Launch Vehicle MOM was launched aboard PSLV C-25, which was an XL variant of the PSLV, one of world's most reliable launch vehicles. Mangalyaan launched at 09:08 UTC (14:38 IST, 4:08 a.m. EST) on a Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV-C25) from the Satish Dhawan Space Center in Sriharikota, India. The XL variant was earlier used to launch Chandrayaan (2008), GSAT-12 (2011) and RISAT-1 (2012). Six burns raised the apogee of the orbit and the spacecraft left Earth orbit and headed for Mars on 01 December 2013. After a 300-day cruise a 24-minute orbital insertion burn on 24 September 2014 starting at 1:47:32 UT (7:17:32 a.m. ISU) put …

It is the first Indian launch vehicle to be equipped with liquid stages. After its first successful …